Relaxation?
Now that I'm finally able to write somewhere without constantly looking over my shoulder, or constantly trying to figure out how to hide this from someone, isn't it time that I get pissed off at something else?
Sure, how about work. Today my bosses boss got our crew together to bitch about us not working hard enough. Apparently there were 1400 work hours turned in and only 900 of those hours accounted for. So that means our crew spent 500 hours not working last month. Too bad I wasn't around for all the bullshitting sessions that they seem to think we had.
Bosses anyway, what the hell do they know? See we got all of the easy work done, now we are stuck with all the pieces that don't seem to fit together just right. It takes more time trying to cut, re-weld, re-make, modify or just plain start over than it does to simply install something. Do those pencil pushers take that into account? Probably not. As far as I go, I'm the welder on our crew, and I have to spend time moving all my tools from floor to floor trying to take care of loose ends. Do they take that into consideration? Once again, probably not.
I'm also the only one from our crew that's on the 8th floor. I've been up there for weeks. These things I'm welding together are HUGE. Heavy too. So when I need help moving them around, I have to go find someone. I have no radio, so I don't really know where to start. There was one day where I had to go all the way down to the first floor before I finally found someone. That right there is a huge waste of time. Bosses don't look at that either. They just look at the final product and don't seem to have a clue about what it took to get it there.
Another thing bossman said was that in about 3 weeks or so they are going to start with layoffs from this job. What was it he said again? Oh yeah that's right:
"You are all smart enough to know who is getting laid off, so don't be surprised when it happens."
Well now, let me see here. We have an awsome crew. In my opinion anyway. So who would get put on that list? I have an idea of who. There are three on that list, myself included. If they had to get rid of one of the two apprentices, it would be me over the Nater-Bater. Doesn't hurt my feelings any, that's how construction is. I will, however give my company a little bit of hell before I go.
My company is a little bit shady on following union rules. There are a handful that I'm sure are being broken. I'm going to educate myself on the exact wording in our contract, and I'm going to make the bosses abide by those union rules. Some of them might be petty, but rules are rules. If you want to be a union contractor, you follow union rules. So neener neener neener. If I'm going, I might as well go out with a bang.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home